Vhembe TVET College was established in 1963 under the name Bantu State School. In 1967 the school was then named Bantu Trade School due to its diversity.

In 1985 the school was renamed to Finyazwanda College until 1992 when it was renamed Technical College of Venda (Techniven), until 2003. In 2003 we became known as Vhembe FET College until 2014.

The College is now known as Vhembe TVET College and has seven campuses, namely: Makwarela, Mavhoi, Mashamba, Shingwedzi, Thengwe, Tshisimani and Musina.  In addition to the seven campuses, the College recently opened Makhado Hospitality Centre which enhances the growth and expansion of access to students within Vhembe District Municipality.

We are situated in the Vhembe District Municipality, which is in the far north of the Limpopo Province, with our Central Office situated in Sibasa. The District is comprised of four municipalities, namely, Thulamela, Makhado, Lim 345 (Collins Chabane Municipality) and Musina, with the seat located in Thohoyandou.  It covers 21, 000km2 or 18% of the province.

The College prides itself with footprints it has with all local municipalities within Vhembe District. It is working with SETAs such as SSETA, PSETA, MQA, Bank SETA. The College has partnered with Universities with the purpose of the articulation of students into higher education

The economic activity in the area is characterized by small enterprises, e.g. agricultural activities, tourism and mining, car servicing, and welding; distributed among the rural settlement.  Unemployment, poverty and inequality are huge problems in this area. The unemployment rate is incredibly high, much more than the provincial average. There is shortage of infrastructure and big industries for the placement of students and lecturers.