Legislative Mandate

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa (Section 29(1)-(4)) provides for the right of basic and further education to everyone in the official language of their choice provided equity, redress and practicability are taken into account. In addition, the Continuous Education and Training (CET) Colleges Act (Act 16 of 2006) as amended by (Act 3 of 2012) provide for the regulation of continuous education and training through the establishment, governance and funding of public technical, vocational education and training colleges and the promotion of quality in continuous education and training.

Further sets of legislation that impact on the TVET colleges sector, its strategic mandate and national imperatives are listed below:

  • The National Qualifications Framework (NQF) Act67/2008;
  • The Higher Education (HE) Act 101/1997;
  • The Skills Development Act 97/1998 and Amendments;
  • The Higher Education Laws Amendment Act 21/2011;
  • The Higher Education and Training Laws Amendment Act 23/2012;
  • The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) Act 56/1999;
  • South African Council of Educators (SACE) Act 31/2000;
  • Labour Relations Act 66/1995 and Amendments;
  • General Further Education and Training Quality Assurance Act 58/2001.